The Founder’s Award

The Woodland Owners of the Southern Alleghenies (WOSA) developed the Founder’s Award to recognize three individuals who were responsible for the creation of WOSA in 1993 and who played critical roles in the organization’s success:  private forest landowners Armin Behr and John Herr, as well as the Bedford County Service Forester at that time, Steve Wacker.

2017: Armin Behr and John Herr

2022.  Steve Wacker, District Forester for William Penn State Forest District


John Mash Award (Stewardship)

The John Mash Award is presented to a WOSA member for management to goals, environment ethics and exemplary service and outreach to others.  Recipients are: 

2023     Joe Wolfe

2015     Mary Jo Casalena

2013     Loretta Radeschi, Dave Schreffler, Ben Tresselt

2011     Mary Jo Casalena

2009     Loretta Radeschi

2007     Ron Johnson

2006     Mike & Laura Jackson     

2005     John Herr

2004     Armin Behr, Chris Gruitt


Gifford Pinchot Award

The Gifford Pinchot Award recognizes those in the forest industry, such as consulting foresters, loggers, mill buyers, etc. The award is presented to an individual whose efforts are beyond the call of economics, who makes a difference in landowner forest management for sustainable forestry, and who volunteers his or her service to WOSA and its members through education and support.   Recipients are:

2014      Jerry Clark, Todd Clark and Vince Clark of Curtis Clark & Sons Logging
2011     Don Oaks
2009     Don Oaks
2007     Ben Tresselt
2005     Bill Boa - Forester
2004     Juls Wood - Forester


Maurice Goddard Award

The Maurice Goddard Award cites Bureau of Forestry Service Foresters, legislators, Penn State Extension Foresters, etc. for leadership, legislative support, service to landowners, support and education, volunteer service to WOSA and his or her positive help to WOSA members in need.   Recipients are:

2006     Mark Maser, Dave Scamardella
2005     Mike Wolf
2004     Allyson Muth


     Woodland Owners of the

     Southern Alleghenies

Ben & Carole Tresselt Scholarship

In 2005, WOSA established its Scholarship Award Program.  In 2011, the WOSA Board named the scholarship the Carole Tresselt Memorial Scholarship to honor Carole's dedication to WOSA. Carole was the Treasurer for WOSA for many years and a strong proponent of the Annual Scholarship program. In 2014, the Board changed the name to the Ben & Carole Tresselt Scholarship. The scholarship is available to high school seniors and college students from Bedford and Fulton counties who intend to pursue a degree in Forest Resources. Past recipients are:

2023    Codi Clapper  and  Craig (Sammy) Prescott

2022    no scholarships awarded
2021    no scholarships awarded

2020    Codi Clapper, Bedford  and  Xavier Maslowski, Everett

2019    no scholarships awarded

2018    no scholarships awarded

2017    no scholarships awarded

2016    Sarah Elyard, Pennsylvania State University

2015    Amy Miller, Alleghany College of Maryland

2014    no scholarships awarded

2013    no scholarships awarded

2012    no scholarships awarded

2011    Brandon Hasselrode, Everett Area HS/West Virginia University

2010    Aaron Green, Everett Area HS

2009    Becca Shaffer, Hyndman HS  and  Scott Cessna, Alleghany College of Maryland

2008    Koby Cutchall, McConnellsburg HS  and  Scott Cessna, Everett Area HS

2007    Adam Miller, Southern Fulton HS

2006    Dolan Moser, Claysburg-Kimmel HS